[english] padjelantaleden in June

Hej hej,

I am from France and I am studying Engineering Science in Luleå this semester. I am practising basic swedish but english is easier for me, so if you don't mind...

I am thinking of hiking the padjelantaleden and then following with the Nordkalottleden in the beginning of June. My question is: will the huts written "overnight hut" on my BD10 Sareks Nationalpark "Lantmäteriets fjällkarta" be open at this period of the year for me to sleep into?

Tack så mycket,
Rémi

Huts are open from 1 july http://www.padjelanta.com (only in swedish and german).

Other times one room is open for visitors, but you can't trust to find gas so bring your own kitchen. In the begining of june there can be problems with the boatrides. Timetable is awalible on STFs website, www.stfturist.se
There can be some snow, don't know how much snow there can be early june.

Padjelantaleden is nice.

/Ulf

Open huts in Padjelanta.

If you visit the STF homepage you will find the opening times for their huts http://www.svenskaturistforeningen.se/ In padjelanta the huts are not opened, but there is always one hut at each place open all year.

But it is a difficult period of time. The snow is still abundant, but it is weak and it may take quit hard work if you fall through the upper crust. I would NOT go at that time if conditions are normal. But you may be lucky and then it is ok. But there will be mostly snow, I'm quite sure.

Better though if you wait three weeks. The problems you face then is either rivers flooded with melting snow, or insects in ENORMOUS quantities. But the ground is better to walk on.

There are some pictures from this area taken at the end of june. http://www.nordlandsruta.no/bilder.htm
They started in Narvik and went south, an you can see at least some of the huts on the track you plan to walk.

Thanks a lot for the advice!
I'll may be try to travel to the norwegian, Gulf Streamed side wich should be a little more warmer, am i wrong?