Nybörjare söker råd

• Trådstartare it1.gonzo@memo.volvo.se (David Taub)
  • Start datum

it1.gonzo@memo.volvo.se (David Taub)

Gäst
Hi, I'm a beginner to the whole ski tour thing (I hope it's ok if I write in English) and was hoping to get some advice. I can read swedish, so you can answer me in Swedish if you prefer. I am hoping to do a ski tour in Sarek or somewhere nearby sometime and was trying to gather information on what I need to know to be able to do it.

I know how to cross country ski, at least on normal boring pre-made tracks, but I have some questions about a more serious tour.

First, what do you use for going up the longer and steeper hills. I assume normal Valla isn't going to cut it. I've heard something about "skins"?

Second, how do you go downhill? I can what you call "slalom" ski no problem, but this obviously won't work with cross country skis, at least not well. Do I have to learn telemarking? I've heard that for telemarking you need "special" telemarking skis a completely separate type than either slalom or cross country.

Third, can I use my normal cross country skis for a tour in Sarek? (the ones I use when I go to Långberget or Hovfjället for example) or do I need special skis?

Please email me any advice, links, suggestions, you may have to help me get started:
it1.gonzo@memo.volvo.se

Thanks,
David Taub

Anonym från gamla forumet

Gäst
Untitled

Hello David,

Skiing in the Swedish mountains in general is not extremely demanding on equipment and technique. If you are not planning to climb bigger mountains you do not need skins (stighudar) or telemark skis/technique. Most routes avoid the steeper slopes. What you do need are skis with steel sides (stålkanter) and good clothing, shovel and windsack to cope with bad weather. Another good idea is not to go alone.