Jervenbag with down sleeping bag?

Hi all,

First post and apologies for the English. I've been surfing this website for a few years now thanks to Google Translate.

I'm leaving for an arctic survival class in Sweden next month. This means outdoor sleeping, no huts but the occasional snowhole and sleeping under trees.

I have a Jervenbag Thermo Hunter and I'm considering bringing it along, and put my mat and down sleeping bag in there. I wonder if people have tried this before for longer periods of time. Since Jerven is not that well known in the rest of Europe I figured I would have to ask the question here.

Will the weight of the Jervenbag flatten the down of the sleeping bag? Hence make the bag colder? Will the lack of breathability turn my sleeping bag into a soaking wet cloth?

I've used so far the Jervenbag mainly as a short term quick & dirty sleeping option, often in combination with an oldschool Buffalo bag. Because weight restrictions and the colder temperatures I need to opt for down now...

Will the Jervenbag make it worse or better? Anyone with hands-on experience? The class is a week and there will be *no* opportunity to dry gear in a hut.

Thanks!

I've done one winter night with the exact setup you are suggesting.
It works quite alright.
The weight pushing it down is not an issue. But there was quite a bit of frost everywhere in the morning, with no possibility to dry I would imagine that to be main concern. The last few days might get extra cold.

A very minor issue I remember was that since the jerven duk is a square there is no sort of natural position for it to leave an open room for your face. It sort of wants the spread out over your face and if you pull it down you move it more than you want it to. A very minor issue on a survival camp :) but it was something I kept trying to rearrange all through the night.