Sarek Highlights trip 2-13 of July, 2018

Hej guys and god jul to everyone!

I've been preparing and planning for this trip for around the last two years.
This here will be me and my friend's plan for hiking Sarek and visiting the two main attractions we like to see, Sarek mountain and the Rapa valley.

We will have enough food and gear for the period, but would like to get your opinion about a few issues:
- Climbing the mountain with trail runners but with thick wool seal skins - does it seem reasonable?
- Does the route (excluding Aktse-Kvikkjokk) seem okay in terms of exposure to mosquitoes? We'd like to avoid them as much as possible
- Are 11 days enough?

3QTs4IO.png

kml
gpx

God Jul!
The route appears doable in 11 days, but weather has a great influence and can hold you back, especially when reaching for the Sarek summits. My only real question deals with what looks like a North-South traverse of the Sarek massif. To do it carrying all your gear and food for another week appears, well, unconventional and strenuous.

If you come for 'the Sarek experience', the real adventure ends at Aktse. Consider spending more time inside the national park and less on the Kungsleden trail.

As for mosquitoes, conditions vary a lot depending on season, location but most of all altitude. At 600 meters down in the Rapa valley, there is no escape. I wouldn't worry too much about them, but again, mosquitoes also make a case for avoiding the Aktse-Kvikkjokk stretch.

Hej guys and god jul to everyone!

I've been preparing and planning for this trip for around the last two years.
This here will be me and my friend's plan for hiking Sarek and visiting the two main attractions we like to see, Sarek mountain and the Rapa valley.

We will have enough food and gear for the period, but would like to get your opinion about a few issues:
- Climbing the mountain with trail runners but with thick wool seal skins - does it seem reasonable?